The United States Green Building Council (USGBC) has developed the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) rating systems to rank projects and buildings based on their energy efficiency. LEED rating systems are grouped based on the specific project or building type. The LEED rating groups are New Construction & Major Renovations, Existing Building Operations and Maintenance, Commercial Interiors, Core and Shell Development, Retail, Schools, Homes, Neighborhood Development, and Healthcare.

LEED Certification Requirements

Each project is required to satisfy prerequisites and earn points in the main credit categories of:

    • \Sustainable Sites- practices that minimize the impact on ecosystems and water resources
    • \Water Efficiency- practices that promote the smart use of water indoors and outdoors, and reduce the potable water consumption
    • \Energy and Atmosphere- innovative practices that promote better building energy use
    • \Materials and Resources- use of sustainable building materials and reducing waste
    • \Indoor Environmental Quality- practices that promote better indoor air quality and access to daylight and views

There are additional LEED credit categories for the Neighborhood Development and Home Groups. Bonus credit categories are available in all groups for Innovation in Design or Innovation in Operations, which recognizes sustainable building and design expertise not covered in the other five categories, and Regional Priority, which recognizes regional environmental priorities for specific geographic areas.

USGBC Scoring System

Projects must be submitted for review to the USGBC, and after the review is complete, the project will be receive a formal recognition. Depending on the number of points earned, the project will be LEED Certified, Silver, Gold, or Platinum.

    • \Certified: 40-49 Points Earned
    • \Silver: 50-59 Points Earned
    • \Gold: 60-79 Points Earned
    • \Platinum: 80+ Points Earned

With the implementation of PA-07-242, the State of Connecticut amended the Building Code to require \’93(1) Buildings costing $5 million or more built after January 1, 2009, and (2) renovations costing $2 million or more starting January 1, 2010 to meet the LEED silver standard or its equivalent.\’94 The LEED requirements under PA 07-242 also extend to include \’93(1)Renovations to state facilities approved and funded on or after January 1, 2008, (2) new school construction projects authorized by the legislature on or after January 1, 2009 that cost $5 million or more, and (3) school renovation projects authorized by the legislature on or after January 1, 2009 costing at least $2 million.\’94 (Connecticut General Assembly). These state facilities are also mandated to improve their energy efficiency by 20%.

Contractors with LEED Certified Project Experience

PA 07-242 has caused a substantial increase in Sustainable Construction, with more and more projects having to conform to LEED Certification Requirements. All Seasons Landscaping has the knowledge and expertise in sustainable site development and has been contracted to work on several different LEED certified projects. If you have any questions on your next \’93Green\’94 project, please visit our website or give us a call!

Links for Additional Information on LEED Certification:

    • United States Green Building Council-
    • Connecticut Green Building Council-
    • Connecticut General Assembly-